In Maya’s Honor: 10 Phenomenal Women Of Today (LIST)

Global Grind

Garden Party Celebration For Dr. Maya Angelou's 82nd BirthdayMaya Angelou was a phenomenal woman, but she wasn’t alone.

I learned about Maya at a young age. First, when in 4th grade, my teacher Mr. Graves made us recite, learn and memorize her poem. I remember all the boys in our gifted and talented class sulked and complained. We didn’t want to say the words of Phenomenal Woman out loud.

Getting 4th grade boys to say, “I’m a woman. Phenomenally. Phenomenal woman. That’s me,” is tough. But we did it; fear of failing was worse than a few jokes.

We got some culture, as Mr. Graves put it. Fast forward to me being a little older, that knowledge of Maya’s poem came in handy when I started to fall in love with my phenomenal high school girlfriend.

I share that story to say that Maya’s words had an effect on all of us, male and female.

It’s a good thing to…

View original post 195 more words

Leave a Reply

